Breast Cancer Now researcher Professor Clare Isacke has been appointed Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Thursday 28 April 2016      Research blog
Professor Clare Isacke

Professor Clare Isacke

Today we are excited to learn that Professor Clare Isacke, a leading researcher at the Breast Cancer Now Toby Robins Research Centre, has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. This prestigious role recognises Professor Isacke’s outstanding contribution to medical science and her dedication to advancing our understanding of secondary breast cancer.

As a Fellow, Professor Isacke will be central to the work of the Academy, which is committed to identifying and responding to developments in healthcare, influencing policy and forging links between academia, industry and the NHS in order to advance medical research for the benefit of society.

Professor Isacke said:

“I am delighted to receive this prestigious honour which is an acknowledgement of my team’s exceptional efforts to defeat breast cancer and a reflection of the excellent scientific facilities, staff and environment here at the Institute of Cancer Research and the support of Breast Cancer Now.”

Professor Isacke has been a key figure at the Breast Cancer Now Toby Robins Research Centre at the Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) in London since 2001, when she was appointed as Professor of Molecular Biology. She has since been appointed to several senior roles, including Interim Director of the Division of Breast Cancer Research and is the current Academic Dean of the ICR.

Professor Isacke’s research focuses on understanding how breast cancer cells interact with their surroundings to enable the tumour to spread to other sites in the body. This process leads to the development of secondary breast cancer, which is currently incurable and claims the lives of nearly 12,000 women every year in the UK. Professor Isacke’s work is therefore crucial to our ambition of stopping women dying from breast cancer by 2050. You can hear more about Clare’s work and her hopes for the future in the video below.



In addition to Professor Isacke, Breast Cancer Now is proud to be funding several other prominent researchers who have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences in previous years. This includes the leader of the Breast Cancer Now Generations Study Professor Anthony Swerdlow, Breast Cancer Now Trustee and grant holder Professor Adrian Harris, and research team leaders Professor Mitch Dowsett and Professor Tony Ng.

More information

Find out more about Professor Isacke and her vital work into secondary breast cancer.